

Minutes of the Annual

General Meeting

25th May 2023 at 16h00 via

Zoom

Attendees:

First Name
Carin
Chanti
Cobus
Colin
Surname
Roberts
Wilson
Rossouw
Rossouw
Seftel

David Goldschmidt
David Crewe-Brown

Dawn Flier
Funeka Tutshana
Jan Tukker
Jan Hermanus Oelofse

Jannie Koegelenberg John Seoloana Jonathan Mphake

Joshua van Rensburg Karen **Pretorius** Ken **Titmuss** Khumo Mosathupa Lerato Thabede Liezl Smith Louis Roland Epoh Martin Wierzbicki MJ Schoemaker

Nikita Reddy
Renesh Ranjeeth
Selepe Phetla
Sizwesamantshali Mtshali
Solly Engelbrecht

Rakgalakane

Mosibudi

Thato Proxy

Tiwonge Mkandawire
Tracy Cheetham
Victor Leeuw
Wilmien Nortje

Proxies

23 were received by the SAPICS office.

Welcome

MJ Schoemaker, SAPICS President welcomed all the attendees to the AGM and thanked them for the support of the SAPICS.

Confirmation of the Minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting held on the 19th May 2022 were approved as correct.

Proposed by: Chantalle Wilson Seconded by: Karen Pretorius

Election of 1 board member

MJ advised that there is 1 vacancy on the Board this year for election by the members. Attendees were invited to use the Google Forms link to vote for their choice of Board member. MJ advised that there are 3 vacancies on the Board and the current board members will make the appointments in the Board meeting following the AGM.

Presentation of the Annual Report and Financial Summary

- MJ presented her Annual Report for 2022. She highlighted the mission statement of SAPICS to educate, elevate and empower the Supply Chain Management community in Africa.
- MJ reminded all that Supply Chains were put under pressure with the challenges of the last few years and thanked everyone for persevering.
- MJ highlighted the fact that SAPICS hosted its 44th Annual Conference in Cape Town face to face. Almost 600 delegates attended and there was great energy at the event.
- MJ thanked the AEPS for their hard work in educating the community. It was a good year in terms of support and sales.
- It was good to hold the Young Professional conference again in 2022 as an online event, as it is important for SAPICS to ensure young professionals are developed and mentored.
- The Professional designees were congratulated for participating in the pilot project and those who were designated post the pilot. Unfortunately, SAQA changed the regulations, and in order to be in line with the legislation, SAPICS has put the project on hold until it can ensure that the PD is in line with the SAQA requirements
- Thanks again to the Upavon team for their professional running of SAPICS in 2022.
- Jan Tukker, representing the Finance committee, reported on the 2022 financials. The Board
 is happy to report a profit this year and a turnaround year for the organisation. Hard work
 and cost cutting measures were implemented to achieve this. Upavon Management was

generous by supporting SAPICS by covering many operational and staff costs during the year. Their loan to SAPICS is projected to be repaid during 2023. A mutual decision between Upavon Management and SAPICS was reached for Upavon Management to no longer manage SAPICS, but to continue the running of the events and the Conference going forward. staff

- There are positive indicators is that SAPICS will make a good profit this year and pay the Upavon loan back. SAPICS will generate enough cash to put back into the community and to invest in SAPICS.
- Jan thanked the Finance Committee who worked hard on the finances in 2022.
 - Carin Roberts from Avroy Shlain asked about the debt in the organisation. In 2022 SAPICS reduced the debit, and the debt to Upavon will be paid in full in 2023.
 - The Board created pillars funding, professional designation, community, membership and education. Board members are responsible for the pillars and are involved operationally with the staff on the different issues and requirements.
 - MJ thanked the suppliers and service providers and the SAPICS staff for their hard work, especially during the transition period.

Appointment of Auditors

Jan Tukker advised that GZ & Company, Accountants and Auditors be retained for the Audit for the 2023 financial year.

Proposed by: MJ Schoemaker Seconded by: Karen Pretorius

Announcement of elected Board Member

MJ announced that Nikita Reddy, from Mancosa, was elected on to the Board. She congratulated Nikita and thanked her in advance for her commitment. MJ also thanked the other nominees for putting their hand up to serve the organisation. SAPICS appreciates the support and will contact the nominees to participate in other areas of SAPICS activities.

Closure and thanks

- All the volunteers who are involved in the various committees were thanked.
- The board members were thanked for the huge amount of time that they have given to SAPICS. MJ was thanked for her enormous contribution to SAPICS. She is very involved in the operations and guidance of SAPICS to meet the needs of the members.
- Jenny was crucial in 2022 with strengthening SAPICS relationship with stakeholders and SAPICS is very grateful for this important role. Similarly, Clive Froome offered crucial financial and governance support to SAPICS in 2022, for which SAPICS is appreciative.

- MJ thanked the members in the different categories for their ongoing support and loyalty. Further engagement and feedback in encouragement.
- Eric Warner and Greta Froise passed away in 2022 and will be missed in the SAPICS community. RIP.
- Karen Pretorius implored all to spread the word and remind her colleagues to come back to SAPICS.
- Chanti Wilson thanked Jan Tukker for his very important work on the Finance Committee.
- MJ thanked the rest of the board members for their important work, through the changes in the management of SAPICS, and all of them were very much involved in the detail of running the organisation. A great mix of talented people!

The AGM was closed by MJ at 16h41. She thanked everyone for attending and encouraged all to attend the Annual Conference in June. <u>SAPICS 2023 | Delegate Information</u>

Signed as a true reflection of the meeting

Date: 06/06/2023

Signed: MJ Schoemaker (President and Chair of the Board)